Skip to content

Steering Through Chaos by Scott Wilson

March 17, 2010

If your church is growing, it is changing. This is what we want; at least we want the growing part. The changing part is difficult and frightening. For church leaders, it is a little less frightening after reading Scott Wilson’s Leading Through Chaos. Wilson is the Senior Pastor of The Oaks Fellowship in the Dallas, Texas area. This is a church that has gone through huge transition in the past several years. This transition included moving the church’s location, at least two major building programs, adding church campuses, and an attendance that almost tripled. It is no wonder that Wilson refers to these times of transition as “chaos”.

After reading the first chapter, I wasn’t sure what I was reading. It seemed very theoretical. I was really having trouble wrapping my head around it, but I kept reading. I am glad I did; this book is good. It is very good. The rest of the book – all of it – is extremely practical. Wilson discusses casting vision and the timing for transition. He stresses the importance of authenticity on the part of leadership. One area leadership books often neglect to give any focus to is the role of prayer and the work of the Holy Spirit in successfully navigating through change.

Wilson devotes a chapter to the need for leaders to be mentored. I could not agree more. But more than a mentor, Wilson advocates that every leader should have a life coach. And his church should pay for it. He has one and claims it is the best money his church spends every year. He really emphasizes this point. He acknowledges that he serves in this role for a few other pastors. He also is president of Scott Wilson Leadership. They do church growth consulting and leadership coaching. Apparently, coaching benefits Wilson in more than one way.

I recommend this book for any church leader, especially pastors. I foresee that this book will benefit me in my own future ministry. If you are a pastor, buy this book. If you have a pastor, buy him this book. It will prove valuable to your congregation.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Zondervan as part of the Steering Through Chaos blog tour. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

From → Book Reviews

2 Comments
  1. I am SO glad I recommended this read for you. I had a feeling it would be a good one. I am honored to have known Scott back when he was just a buddy from high school, who dated one of my best friends. He married that best friend and became a dynamic preacher. Cool!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. mapping the blog tour for steering through chaos « ZonderFann

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 421 other followers

