Skip to content

Leaving a Legacy

September 3, 2009
4 Warners

Part of my legacy is my name. Pictured is Warner Johnson Collier, Sr., Jr., III, and IV. Which is which should be evident.

We all want to leave a legacy. The dictionary defines a legacy as: “Something transmitted by or received from an ancestor or predecessor or from the past”.

The truth however, is that we will all leave a legacy. Presidents are notorious for spending the final half of a second term “legacy building”. The Rockefellers and Vanderbilts left a legacy of wealth building. Mother Teresa left a legacy of care and compassion. Osama Bin Laden will leave a legacy of terrorism. Abusive fathers leave a legacy of pain and fear. Workaholic fathers leave a legacy of neglect and abandonment. We all leave a legacy.

My grandfather moved to north Mississippi, married and started a family. He and my grandmother worked hard to provide for their family. He fought in the Second World War In addition to other things, he left a legacy of bravery, honor, and sacrifice to his family. This is what parents, especially fathers, of that generation did. They survived the Great Depression and war. They have much to teach us. My grandparents were married 65 years when she passed away. They left a legacy of love and devotion to each other and their family. They attended their local church for over half a century and he continues. They leave a legacy of commitment to Christ’s work on Earth.

My father served in the military and as a teacher then a police officer. He leaves a legacy of honor and of service to country and community. He has faithfully preached the Gospel for almost 30 years. He leaves a legacy of devotion to the work of Christ. My parents were married 41 years when she passed away recently. They leave a legacy of commitment and love to each other. My mother went back to college later in life and finished her degree, earned her teaching certificate, and became a school teacher. She leaves a legacy of perseverance. My parents have had an unwavering love and devotion to their children, and now, their grandchildren. They leave a legacy of love and acceptance for family.

As I work hard to fulfill God’s call on my life, I pray that one day my sons will speak highly of the legacy I leave them. I want it to be a legacy of faith in Christ and love for His work and word. I want it to be a love for their parents and wives and children. I want it to be a legacy of service to the church and the community. I am leaving a legacy. I work and pray that it is a godly legacy like the ones left for me.

What is your legacy?

2 Comments
  1. John, what a great post! My legacy is something I think about often. Have you heard Nichole Nordeman’s song “Legacy”? It’s beautiful.

  2. Love this post. Thank you for sharing tid bits of your family legacy.

    Okay, on another note. I am sOSOOOOO glad you made the WordPress move. Now you can be all techie and walk me through it. I have been wanting to move on over for sometime. HELP! We even bought my domain name “blessedwithgraceblog.com”. Now just need to do something with it.
    I like the theme you chose. Looks clean, simple, uncomplicated. Like you… Not that you are simple. You know what I mean. 🙂

Leave a Reply

