Skip to content

Words from the Fire by R. Albert Mohler, Jr.

April 7, 2010

When I got ready to start reading Words from the Fire by Albert Mohler, my first thought was, “A book about the Ten Commandments. A chapter on each commandment. How terribly exciting.” (Feel free to read lots of sarcasm into that thought.) A seminary president writes about the Ten Commandments. My expectations were low, in terms of interest. I could not have been more wrong. This is one of the most finely crafted books I have read recently.

Dr. Mohler takes each commandment and examines it within its historical context. The Israelites are preparing to enter the promised land and these commands are to provide a framework for religious and social order. He then spends a great deal of effort examining what each command means. Finally, he applies the commandment to us as Christians not under the law but under the new covenant. He does this skillfully and with great effect.

I would highly recommend this book for anyone. As a preacher and pastor, I suspect many of the concepts Dr. Mohler discusses will reappear in a ten week sermon series on the Ten Commandments at some point in the future.

We have tended to teach the Ten Commandments as a list primarily to children. Words from the Fire demonstrates there is so much more. As a Christian, how are you impacted by the Ten Commandments?

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Moody as part of their blogger review program.  I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

From → Book Reviews

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

