Skip to content

To Comment or Not to Comment?

May 12, 2010

I enjoy writing my blog. I am not as faithful to write as I should be, but I enjoy it. There have been times it has served as a cathartic exercise for me. By their very nature, blogs tend to be a little narcissistic. They really are about the writer. I am conscious of this and try to guard against it. I try to offer things that I think would be helpful for me to read other places and offer those kind of things to the few people who read my thoughts.

I have been blogging for just over two years. In that time, I have gone from zero readers to a few more than that. Over the past 45 days or so, I have averaged just over 1,000 views per day. I am not trying to brag, I am making a point. Here is the point: even with all those hits, I get virtually no comments. I like comments. I enjoy the conversation. I have two or three friends who comment periodically, and I appreciate it. I realize that I do not comment on every blog  post, but I do comment some. If I read a post that is compelling to me for some reason, I try to leave a comment.

Here are some questions I would like some help with:

  • What causes you to leave a comment on a blog post?
  • What makes you decide not to leave a comment?
  • If blogs are part of social media, where is the social part?

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. 1. When the post is interesting (as yours is) I feel it is important that I let the blogger know.
    2. I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis but if it’s not interesting or sometimes I just have nothing to say I don’t leave a comment.
    3. That’s a good question to which I don’t have an answer to at this point but I would like to tell you I loved your post and thank you for sharing 🙂

    • wjcollier3 permalink

      Thanks for sharing. If you don’t mind, could you tell me what led you to my blog and how long you have been reading it? Are there certain elements that are more meaningful or less meaningful than others? What are those? Thanks for commenting!

  2. What I do is go to the tags section and click those that will interest me. When I look at the most recent posts at that time, I look for an opening line that seems interesting and that is how I found your blog. This is the first post I have read from you actually.

  3. Honestly, I don’t look at my blog as a social thing. It’s an outlet for me b/c I love to write & I write about whatever’s on my heart or stuck in my head at the time. Sometimes it’s ministerial to others, sometimes it’s just the junk God is telling me to talk through (or write through), sometimes it’s purely to brag about my kids or something going on in our lives. It’s my therapy. So I guess I never think of the comments (or lack thereof) to be a social thing on my own blog. If you (general you) read & want to say something, feel free….if ya don’t, that’s OK. But I do like to see once in a while who’s reading so I’ll post a “roll call” sort of blog to check in & see who’s out there.

    As far as why I do or don’t comment:
    1. If there is something about the post that particularly strikes me as funny or poignant or impresses me, I’ll comment.
    2. If the author specifically says “Tell me what you think about…”, I’ll comment.
    3. If the author posts a book review about a book I doubt I’ll ever read, I may or may not comment. (cough, cough) 🙂
    4. If the author posts a book review about a book I have already read or plan to read, specifically based on their review, I’ll comment.

    And ya so ya know…I rarely ever come back & read follow ups to comments I post on any blog, so if ya reply, let me know via email.

Leave a Reply

