Skip to content

In a Heartbeat by Leigh Anne and Sean Tuohy

July 13, 2010

First I read The Blind Side. I was deeply touched by a family that would so freely give of themselves. Then I saw the movie. I was amazed that the book and story were brought to the screen with such care to be true to the book. Then Sandra Bullock won her first Academy Award for her portrayal of Leigh Anne Tuohy. Now we have the story of Sean and Leigh Anne Tuohy told as only they can tell it.

In a Heartbeat is not the self-congratulatory tale of a family who took in and adopted a young man that turned out to be Michael Oher. It is the story of a family that struggles with all the things any family struggles with and how they make a way to give back to others in their community.

The format of the book is interesting. The chapters are written by either Sean or Leigh Anne or both. Between each chapter is a short interlude. These are written by Tim McGraw, Sandra Bullock, Collins Tuohy, S.J. Tuohy, and Michael Oher. Sean and Leigh Anne simply tell their story. Where they came from. How they were reared. College years. Early days of their family. As they tell their story, they tell how they were instilled with the need to be givers and how they have passed that on to their children. That really is the gist of the book.

While the message of the book is fairly simple and could be given in a short study, this book would not be the same without the stories. I am not ashamed to admit that several of the stories caused me to tear up.

If you found the story of The Blind Side either touching or compelling or both, you should plan on reading In a Heartbeat. It is equally touching. I highly recommend it.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from The B & B Media Group  as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

From → Book Reviews

One Comment
  1. So glad to hear you liked it. I read a review of this one in People magazine last week & wondered how it was. I’ll have to get a copy soon!

Leave a Reply

