Skip to content

The Christian Atheist by Craig Groeschel

August 26, 2010

When I saw the title to Craig Groeschel’s latest book, I thought, “What is he talking about this time?” Some of his earlier titles include Chazown (a Hebrew word that has to do with your purpose or calling), Confessions of a Pastor (he reveals the shocking news that pastors are people, too; they have the same struggles and problems that everyone else has), and It (that hard to define quality; everyone wants it and when you have it you fight hard to keep it). This time it is The Christian Atheist. That’s right, Christian and atheist not only in the same sentence, but in the same phrase.

Does such a creature exist? Can one be a Christian atheist? I would not have thought so, but Groeschel shows us otherwise. He describes this person as someone who believes in God but lives as if He does not exist. Ouch. He then spends well over two hundred pages describing specific areas of life that many believers fail to live up to their name. These include things like:

  • Our past

  • Our understanding of God and His character

  • Prayer

  • Forgiveness

  • Worry

  • Money

  • The church

  • Several others

I have enjoyed and/or appreciated almost everything I have read from Groeschel. I think one of the reasons is that he writes for the everyman. He writes of high and lofty principles without using lofty language. Additionally, I appreciate his transparency. As a pastor, it is comforting to read from another pastor that what I struggle with is not unique. It is encouraging to read how God is leading him through these areas because I know God can and will do it for me also.

On a personal note, I found several of these chapters convicting. They were convicting for me as a husband, a father, a leader, and especially as someone who claims to trust in God.

I can, without reservation, recommend The Christian Atheist. It is a great book to read. It would also make a great starting point for a bible study or sermon series. I look forward to whatever Craig Groeschel writes next.

Have you read The Christ Atheist yet? What did you think? Does it sound interesting to you?

From → Book Reviews

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

