Skip to content

Weekend Reading: You Were Born for This

September 2, 2011

I don’t know much about Bruce Wilkinson. I don’t know much about his theology. I do know I was a little bothered or put-off by the subtitle of his latest book: You Were Born for This: 7 Keys to a Life of Predictable Miracles (2009, Multnomah Books). It is the part about a life of predictable miracles that I found a little troubling. Let me just cut to the chase. I did not really like this book. It is not so much that I disagreed with the author as I didn’t like him.

I come from a church tradition that does not make claims for seeing and doing a lot of miracles. At least I thought I did. After reading You Were Born for This, I have discovered that if I redefine what I mean by miracle, I am involved in quite a few. That is simply what the author did. When I think of the word miracle, I think of something truly, dramatically supernatural. I’m talking about water into wine and raising the dead to life. Wilkinson is talking about letting God use you in the lives of others and putting yourself in a position to allow that to easily happen. Examples would include giving someone a sum of money only to be told that without it they would not be able to feed their child or pay the rent.

And Wilkinson tells those stories, I mean illustrates his point with real life examples. I trust he does not want to come across as self-aggrandizing, but he does come across that way. It is almost as if he wanted to put together a collection of the many, many good things he has done and needed a theme to tie it all together with.

I do agree with the author that we should actively put ourselves in a position to allow God to use us to provide for the needs of others and offer encouragement and support to others. And to that other person, it may seem like a miracle. But rather than seeing myself as a miracle worker, I should see myself as an obedient servant of God.

I would not recommend You Were Born for This. It is not really a bad book. It is just not a good book. I did not find it particularly helpful on any level.

Thoughts?

From → Book Reviews

One Comment
  1. Quoting you: It is almost as if he wanted to put together a collection of the many, many good things he has done and needed a theme to tie it all together with.

    This is exactly the way I felt after reading Radical. Loved the premise of the book, but the author really turned me off.

Leave a Reply

