Skip to content

Happy Birthday, Mr. Lewis

September 28, 2011

In the midst of some reading today, I discovered that today marks the anniversary of the date C.S. Lewis converted to Christianity in 1931 as he was riding to the zoo in his brother Warren’s motorcycle sidecar. Lewis later wrote: “When we set out, I did not believe that Jesus is the Son of God; and when we reached th zoo I did.” I could use this as an opportunity to advocate for the use of the motorcycle as an evangelistic tool, but I don’t think that is really the lesson here. I think the lesson comes from looking at Lewis’ life up to this point. As a child, he reportedly loved to read. His father’s house was filled with books and in his own book, Surprised by Joy, compared the ease of finding a book to read to walking into a field and finding a blade of grass. Even though he strayed from the faith of his childhood, he kept his love of reading and learning. As an adult he read the works of and became friends with the likes of J.R.R. Tolkien, G.K. Chesterton, and Hugo Dyson. It was through their writing and their friendship that Lewis came to trust in Christ; and through Lewis untold numbers have been influenced.

It is important that we instill in our children a love of reading and a love of learning. This is not just a good educational exercise, it is good discipleship. Encourage those around you, both believers and unbelievers, to read good, godly books. I fear the short form of writing on the internet (of which I am somewhat guilty of, as this post illustrates) makes it difficult to stay focused long enough to actually finish a book. That is one of the reasons I post a book review most Fridays on this site. I pray I never give up the habit of reading. I work to encourage my children to read. I encourage you to read. Share a good book with someone you love.


Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

