Skip to content

Courageous Friends

October 4, 2011

This past weekend, a friend and I went to see the new movie, Courageous. I’ll not take time here to review the movie, itself. There are plenty of opinions, both positive and negative, out there already. I want to talk about the impact of the film. I was privileged to participate in a pre-release screening a few months ago. I found the movie to be engaging, emotional, and impactful.

When I saw it again this weekend, all of that was still true, but in a little different way. I am constantly surprised by the impact our context has on us. When I saw it the first time, I was sitting next to my wife in a theater full of ministry leaders invited by the movie’s production and promotion people. When I saw it the second time, I was sitting next to a friend in a theater full of people there to see the film. It struck me as being a very different context.

While my wife and I grew up in two different countries (in all fairness they are not really that different from each other), we were raised in similar families, in many respects. We have never know our parents as unbelievers. We were both raised in the context of the Christian church. We both received Christ as our savior at an early age. We are humbled and glad our three sons have all professed their faith in Christ. We are making every effort to see them to maturity both physically and spiritually.

My friend did not grow up in a Christian home. His father was not a believer; and I think he is an unbeliever still. Church was not a regular part of his life. He became a believer as an adult. He does not have the history, legacy, and examples that I have to draw from. He and his wife have a daughter and a son. They are doing a great job of changing the direction of their family’s legacy.

Courageous affected each of us in ways different from the other. It affected me differently than the first time I saw it. We serve a great God that can use things in our lives based on our own history and the stories of the individuals around us. This is one of the reasons we should be conscientious about having close friendships. God can and will use their stories to impact your life.

Have you seen the movie Courageous?

What kind of impact did it have on you?

Do you have friends whose stories have impacted you?

In what way?

Comment below!

One Comment
  1. mlightsey2 permalink

    We saw the movie on opening day, second showing. Being early in the day there were not very many people at any of the movies. There was a group of older people who looked like a Sunday school class. We loved the movie and were very moved (we cried) by it. We’ve been encouraging people to go see it.

Leave a Reply

